Mayor & Council

Welcome to Universal City, Texas!

On behalf of the city council of Universal City, Texas, welcome to the Universal City web page. As you explore this site, you will find helpful information to acquaint yourself with this wonderful city.


The City of Universal City, Texas, was incorporated in 1960 and adopted its home rule charter in 1972, becoming a council-manager form of government. The city council is composed of a mayor and six councilmembers.

Election and Term of Office

The mayor is elected for a two-year term by majority vote in even-numbered years. Councilmembers are elected at-large, for two-year staggered terms, with three councilmembers elected in even numbered years and the remaining three elected in odd numbered years. A general election is conducted each May for these city officials.


Council members do not receive a salary. Rather, the mayor receives $40.00 per month for expense reimbursement, while councilmembers receive $30.00 per month, during their term of office. No councilmember can hold any other city office or city employment during the term for which he/she was elected to the council.

Council Authority

All powers of the city are exercised in the manner prescribed by the city charter, as amended, and city council has the authority to enact local legislation, adopt a city budget, determine policies and appoint a city manager. Council meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 pm and are open to the public.

Mayoral Duties

The mayor is the presiding officer of council and is recognized as head of the city government for all legislative and ceremonial purposes and by the governor for purposes of military or martial law. During council meetings, the mayor shall vote only when necessary to break a tie vote.

Mayor Pro Tempore

The council elects from among its members a mayor pro tempore who serves for a term of one year. This individual acts as mayor during the absence or disability of the mayor.
  1. Mayor Williams

    John Williams

    Phone: 210-659-0333 Ext 730

  1. Mayor Pro Tem Neville

    Richard "Dick" Neville

    Mayor Pro Tem
    Phone: 210-659-0333 ext. 734

  2. Councilmember Najarian

    Paul Najarian

    Phone: 210-659-0333 ext 732

  3. Councilmember Bear Goolsby

    Bear Goolsby

    Phone: 210-659-0333 ext. 735

  1. Councilmember Maxwell

    Tom Maxwell

    Phone: 210-659-0333 ext. 731

  2. Councilmember Shelby

    William Shelby

    Phone: 210-659-0333 ext 733

  3. Councilmember Volle

    Beverly Volle

    Phone: 210-659-0333 ext. 736